Thursday, February 23 2017, 08:28 PM (GMT - 5)
About the Mission
Viet Nam & UN
Press Releases
Consular Services
Business Guide & Tourist Information
[ Gallery ]
Viet Nam Today
New Government makes debut
08-04-2011, 03:15 pm

New Government makes debut

Party General Secretary Nguyen Phu Trong (left) congratulates Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung and the new Government's cabinet yesterday in Ha Noi. — VNA/VNS Photo Nhan Sang

HA NOI — A new Government headed by Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung made its debut in the capital city yesterday.

Four deputy prime ministers were elected by a majority of votes – Nguyen Xuan Phuc (95.2 per cent), Hoang Trung Hai (93.8 per cent), Nguyen Thien Nhan (91.6 per cent) and Vu Van Ninh (81.8 per cent).

Deputies also approved ministers by a 98.4 per cent majority. Among the 22 ministers, seven have already served in the old government, 15 are new – and two are women.

Phung Quang Thanh was elected Minister of National Defence; Tran Dai Quang, Minister of Public Security; Pham Binh Minh, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Nguyen Thai Binh, Minister of Home Affairs; Ha Hung Cuong, Minister of Justice; Bui Quang Vinh, Minister of Planning and Investment; Vuong Dinh Hue, Minister of Finance; Vu Huy Hoang, Minister of Industry and Trade; Cao Duc Phat, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development; Dinh La Thang, Minister of Transport; Trinh Dinh Dung, Minister of Construction; Nguyen Minh Quang, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment; Nguyen Bac Son, Minister of Information and Communications; Ms Pham Thi Hai Chuyen, Minister of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs; Hoang Tuan Anh, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism; Nguyen Quan, Minister of Science and Technology; Pham Vu Luan, Minister of Education and Training and Ms Nguyen Thi Kim Tien, Minister of Health.

Other key positions included the election of Giang Seo Phu as Minister and Chairman of the Government Committee for Ethnic Minority Affairs; Nguyen Van Binh as Governor of the State Bank of Viet Nam; Huynh Phong Tranh as Government Inspector General and Vu Duc Dam as Minister and Chairman of the Government Office.

In his inauguration speech, PM Nguyen Tan Dung promised to be loyal to the nation, the Communist Party and the Constitution of the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.

"We, the new Government, pledge to carry out to our best the assignment as executive body of the National Assembly - the highest administrative agency of the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.

"We pledge to turn our country into a socialist state with a prosperous people, a strong nation and a democratic, fair and civilised society," said Dung.

He said for its immediate task, the Government would focus on curbing inflation, stabilising the macro economy, helping ease production difficulties while ensuring social security and a safety net for the people, particularly the poor and low wage earners.

"We are determined to consistently pursue policies and measures to defend the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of our homeland; to protect the Party, Government, people and the socialist State; to ensure national security and social law and order. We are resolved to nip in the bud any scheme or plot against our country by the enemy," Dung said. — VNS


  Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung






Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc

Deputy Prime Minister Hoang Trung Hai

Deputy Prime Minister Nguyen Thien Nhan

Deputy Prime Minister Vu Van Ninh









Minister of National Defence Phung Quang Thanh

Minister of Public Security Tran Dai Quang

Minister of Foreign Affairs Pham Binh Minh

Minister of Home Affairs Nguyen Thai Binh









Minister of Justice Ha Hung Cuong

Minister of Planning and Investment Bui Quang Vinh

Minister of Finance Vuong Dinh Hue

Minister of Industry and Trade Vu Huy Hoang









Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Cao Duc Phat

Minister of Transport Dinh La Thang

Minister of Construction Trinh Dinh Dung

Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Nguyen Minh Quang









Minister of Information and Communications Nguyen Bac Son

Minister of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs Pham Thi Hai Chuyen

Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism Hoang Tuan Anh

Minister of Science and Technology Nguyen Quan









Minister of Education and Training Pham Vu Luan

Minister of Health Nguyen Thi Kim Tien

Chairman of the Government Committee for Ethnic Minority Affairs Giang Seo Phu.

Governor of the State Bank of Viet Nam Nguyen Van Binh










Government Inspector General Huynh Phong Tranh

Minister and Chairman of the Government Office Vu Duc Dam


Print version

Other News:
 » Minister stresses VN’s role in AEC Chairmanship | 01-27-2010 |
 » Australia, ADB help Vietnam fight climate change | 01-13-2010 |
 » EC praises Vietnam’s disaster control efforts | 10-08-2009 |
 » Int’l friends support Vietnamese Agent Orange victims | 10-06-2009 |
 » EU to increase trade ties with Vietnam | 07-02-2009 |
 » Foreign investment reaches 8.7 billion USD during first half of year | 06-23-2009 |
 » Ministry calls for votes for Ha Long Bay | 04-17-2009 |
 » US university to start sending students to Vietnam | 04-16-2009 |
 » Viet Nam and Japan boost tourism cooperation | 02-28-2009 |
 » Overseas Vietnamese praise policy towards themselves | 01-05-2009 |